The region of South Westphalia

The region of South Westphalia forms the southern part of Westphalia. It is largely characterised by low mountain ranges, but also includes the lowland plains in the District of Soest and the Lippe floodplain. Almost 60% of the total area of approximately 6200 km² are forested.

In 2006, the five district authorities Kreis Soest, Hochsauerlandkreis, Märkischer Kreis, Kreis Olpe and Kreis Siegen-Wittgenstein successfully applied to implement the NRW Structural funding programme Regionale 2013 and since then have put the aims of the programme into effect under the umbrella name of South Westphalia. The Regionale 2013 South Westphalia was controlled by the Südwestfalen Agentur (South Westphalia Agency), which has acted as central contact for the Regionale.


Mild winters and cool summers


The landscapes and their formation

Landscape history

Subjected to constant change due to human activities